Dragons and Lessons Learned…

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Music and Film

One of the reasons I love animated films is that the creators always strive to deliver a multi-layered message, which appeals to the child in all of us, but also speaks to our adult sensibilities.  Jiminy Cricket was my first experience with this.  As a boy he was the cute little sidekick to Pinocchio, but as an adult I see he was really the lead role in the story.  Our conscience, our moral compass, is what guides us through life and Disney managed to embed Jiminy into the story in such a way that the message was received, and not spurned for a heavy handed approach.  Therein lies the magic.

I now find myself captivated by the story of a boy and a dragon…yeah, I said dragon.  I’ve watched “How to Train Your Dragon” several times now, and each time I walk away with yet another insight.  I’ll start with that nearest to my heart…the bond between a boy and his pet. The relationship begins with trust…earning it…and deserving it.  The boy and the dragon come to terms through a series of trials and errors…and both realize they need the other.  It’s a perfect, symbiotic relationship…hmmm, reminds me of The Black Dog.

The overall themes of the film are tolerance and acceptance.  Vikings always understood dragons to be a menace…it was how they were raised, so they continued the belief, the prejudice.  Sound familiar?  It took one of their own to breach the expanse, to open their minds. But even that single voice wasn’t enough without proof. Why must we have physical proof of one’s convictions? Why doesn’t our word, our solemn vow, serve to convince others? Breaking down the walls is just a difficult process, I guess.

The story gets personal for me when I look at the relationship between the boy and his father. These are two very different individuals, with different outlooks. But they come to realize they have common ground, a space they can share. It’s taken a long time for us, but I think my pop and I finally have some common ground. Man, it’s been a journey…but I love my dad. He’s the smartest man I’ve ever known. Stoick and Hiccup came to a similar realization…I’ve rambled, and I hope that’s ok…I just want to say I love you pop…

Comments
  1. Brettski says:

    So very well said. I love that damn Night Terror. And I love you.

  2. stephanirenfrew says:

    Beautiful. I lost my dad years ago. What I wouldn’t give to be able to tell him I love him just one more time.

Leave a comment